Weekly Wrap Up

Wellington High Blitzes NZYPT

Wellington High won the Regional Finals of the 9th New Zealand Young Physicists Tournament on the 15th March at Victoria University of Wellington. Competition was fierce and sustained throughout the day with our team battling against the best teams from Onslow, Kapiti, Wanganui and new comer Rongotai. In a very close final WHS took out the honors with incisive arguments, high level understanding and a depth of scientific knowledge built up over months of training and physics experimentation. The team was coached and lead by Kerry Parker and Murray Chisholm who will travel with the winning team to Christchurch to compete in the National then hopefully the international Tournaments of Young Physicists. Last year WHS achieved its highest international honors and this year we hope to match the efforts of the previous team members.


The Winning IYPT team from WHS are Stanley Sarkies (Captain), Luke Porteous, Callum MacRae and Dr Kerry Parker (Team Leader).