Introducing The Board


Dominic Killalea I was appointed as Deputy Principal at the end of 2005 and as Principal in 2017. I have worked in this school for over 16 years and I am passionate about our school’s identity and place in the heart of Wellington and I want our students to be a part of creative, collaborative and active communities. Our rich 135 year history has had us at the forefront of best educational practice over and over with our students at the core. We recognise that the individual has their own measure of success and excellence and we work closely with them and their whānau over a range of areas – academic, sporting, cultural, social and personal – to enable them to achieve their goals.

Parent & Community Trustees

Belinda Rynhart (Chair) I was co-opted onto the Board in May 2018 and elected on in 2019. My eldest son left WHS at the end of 2021, and my youngest son is in year 12. I have been an in-house lawyer in various public entities for nearly 20 years. I am pleased to have this opportunity to bring my skills to the Board.

Evžen Novak (Deputy Chair) I have been a parent at Wellington High School for over 5 years and am really interested in helping every student achieve the most they can at a fantastic school. Specialist skills I bring to the Board are prior experience of school governance and a specialist knowledge of buildings and facilities. I am very pleased to help design the school’s future pathway and be contributing to the school, its students and its community.

Annette Atkins I was co-opted onto the Wellington High School Board in August 2017 and relected in 2019. I have a son who left WHS in 2020, and a son in Year 9.  I have been a member of Te Whanau a Taraika since 2014, the parent led group at WHS focused primarily on lifting achievement for Māori students.  I believe very much in New Zealand education and in the ability of New Zealanders to compete and contribute on a par with the best in the world.  In my former career, I advised many different organisations to achieve growth and improve the work they were doing.  I am now establishing my own business in a creative field.  I look forward to applying my skills and experience to my role with the Board.

Jo MacDonald I was pleased to be elected onto the Board in June 2019. My eldest son left WHS in 2021 and my younger son is now in Year 9. My day job is in educational research, and I look forward to contributing to education in a different way, through the board.

Solomon Daniel Talofa, my name is Solomon Daniel, I joined the Board of Trustees as a co-opted member in 2020, which to date has been a great experience in allowing me to understand and appreciate the importance of a role on the board. I have over 20 years in Education currently employed by WelTec as an Academic Learning Advisor. I have three children, one who has previously finished at WHS, one currently in year 12 and one in year 10.

Wyatt Page I was pleased to be elected onto the Board in June 2020. I have twin boys in their third year at Wellington High School and they are enjoying this big diverse school.  I have over 25 years’ experience in tertiary education and currently work next door at Massey University, where I am part of the Environmental Health teaching team. I bring a diverse set of skills to the Board and look forward to applying them in shaping the future direction of WHS.

Nicky Birch

E rere ana ngā mihi ki ngā tāngata whenua, ki ngā whānau o Te Kura Tuarua o Taraika ki Pukeahu.  
Kia ora, I joined the Board this year – 2022, as the māngai for our Te Whānau o Taraika, and have two tamariki in year 10.  Previously I have held five education governance roles at a secondary school, an intermediate, a kura and two kōhanga reo of our tamariki.  For the previous 30 years I have worked in the area of Māori strategic communications and engagement, with both the public sector, iwi and kaupapa Māori entities. I look forward to working closely with whānau and the Board for the benefit of our rangatahi, kura and whānau.


Staff Trustee

Bharat Pancha

Student Trustees for 2021-2022

Eve Ashby and Theo Melville