

Sports Awards

Sports Captains 2023

Aroha Aramoana-Murray Vidthia Beaglehole Frankie Coup Austin Kyne Isla Robertson Harry Smith

Badminton

Junior players of the year - Rachel Lee and Ashu Aryan Senior players of the year - Sofia Das and Otis Smith Contribution to Badminton - managers Tulip Kumar, Toby Blake and Sebastian Hofmann-Body

Basketball

Junior girls player of the year - Sofia Woodill
Junior Boys B player of the year - Niko Holzinger
Junior Boys A player of the year - Tomas Ramsden
Senior Girls player of the year - Mīchelle Keelan-Dowding
Senior Boys B player of the year - James Woodbury
Senior Boys A player of the year Harry Smith
Contribution to Basketball - manager Aroha Aramoana-Murray
Contribution to Basketball - coaches Istvan Mills and Harry Smith
Contribution to Basketball - referee Jack Rickard

Lawn Bowls

Players of the year - Bessie Hawkings and Stella Maiden

Cricket

Junior most improved player - Callum McLean Senior most improved player - Xavier Gorman Junior player of the year - Ashu Aryan Senior player of the year - Max Clarke

Dragonboating

Paddlers of the year - Fern Ashby and Tahaawai James-Kanara

Floorball

Junior boys player of the year - Liam Whitaker Junior girls player of the year - Nightingale Mala Senior Boys player of the year - Austin Kyne Senior Girls player of the year - Frankie Coup Contribution to sports - coaches Austin Kyne and Frankie Coup

Football

Junior Girls Yellow players of the year - Maya Brazier and Ella Pritchard Yeo Junior Girls Red players of the year - Lena Horrocks and Natasha Horrocks Junior Boys Yellow player of the year - Fionn Elliott Junior Boys Red player of the year - Guy Holloway Senior Girls Yellow player of the year - Phoebe Hayward Senior Girls Red player of the year - Isla Robertson Senior Boys Yellow player of the year - Blake Stade Senior Boys Red player of the year - Onosuke Hirano Contribution to sports - Olive Stevens

Futsal

Junior Green player of the year - Guy Holloway
Junior Black player of the year - Jai Janse
Junior Yellow player of the year - James Barker
Junior A Girls player of the year - Olive Stevens
Senior Girls A player of the year - Kaela Mitipelo-Narsi
Senior A Boys player of the year - Gabriel Sloane-Rodrigues
Senior B Girls player of the year - Bessie Hawkings
Senior C Girls player of the year - Mia Walker

Netball

JColl most improved player - Clara van Stokkum
Junior C most improved player - Zanthe Courche
Junior B most improved player - Olivia Hoffman
Junior A most improved player - Bella Ward
Senior C most improved player - Ami Yamada
Senior B most improved player - Leni Campbell
Senior A most improved player - Miriana Foon Parking
JColl player of the year - Zoe Sprenga
Junior C player of the year - Allegra Cooling
Junior B player of the year - Kashmira Baba
Junior A player of the year - Eve Shaw
Senior C player of the year - Bee Butler
Senior B player of the year - Janne Wiertsema
Senior A player of the year - Isla Robertson

Underwater Hockey

Junior Open most improved player - Liam Whitaker Junior Girls most improved player - Rosa Spear Senior Open most improved player - Aidan Relph Senior Girls most improved player - Willow Dearnley Contribution to sports - coach Kauri Sekido

Volleyball

Junior A Boys most improved player - Ben Graham
Junior B Boys most improved player - Casper Steinmetz
Junior Girls Red most improved player - Jordan Tramoundanas
Junior Girls Green most improved player - Ali Groves
Junior Girls Yellow most improved player - Lara Christie
Senior B Girls most improved player - Shaa-ista Sayed
Senior A Girls most improved player - Nhung Ngo

Senior B most improved player - William Rowland

Junior A boys player of the year - Caleb Porter

Junior B boys player of the year - Atlas Dearnley

Junior Girls Red player of the year - Willa Newman

Junior Girls Green player of the year - Pearl Simpson

Junior Girls Yellow player of the year - Lorna McDougall

Senior B Girls player of the year - Josefina Andrade Zuleta

Senior Boys player of the year - Harry Smith

Contribution to sports - coaches Vidthia Beaglehole and Laura Alvarez Benavides

Contribution to sports - referees Nhung Ngo and William Rowland

Waka Ama

Paddlers of the year - David Bellamy and Vidhia Beaglehole Junior paddler of the year - Zoe Springer

Waterpolo

Junior girls most improved player - Tessa Rooke Senior girls most improved player - Iris Boswell Junior girls player of the year - Sammie Reddish Senior girls player of the year - Emma Thirkell

National Representatives

Students who have achieved national selection for sports as a result of participation at WHS Austin Kyne, Frankie Coup, Vinnie Coup - Floorball Gabriel Rodrigues-Sloane - Football Maddy Murdoch, Oli Necklen, Fin Necklen - Underwater Hockey

College Sport Wellington nomination for Sportsperson of the Year

Gabriel Rodrigues-Sloane

Ruby Gooch Award

Awarded to the student who has provided the most help and assistance to the Sports Coordinator Aroha Aramoana-Murray

Macky Singh Cup

Awarded to the student coach who has made the best contribution to coaching Vidthia Beaglehole

Roshni Parsotam Award

Awarded to the student who has participated in the most school sports Mia Walker Nhung Ngo

Goodall Grainger Cup

Awarded to the highest performing team Junior Open Underwater Hockey

Pat O'Connell Trophy

Awarded to the staff member who has made the best contribution to coaching Ben Roth Shank

Manager of the Year

Awarded to the staff member who has made the best contribution to the management or administration of WHS sport Murray Chisholm

Community Volunteer of the Year

Awarded to the community member who has made the best contribution to the management or administration of WHS sport Vanessa Miller

Laurie Steel Cup

Awarded to the community member who has made the best contribution to the coaching of WHS sport Billy Te Rito

Newtown Athletic Diamonds Team Cup

Awarded to the best football team in terms of team work Junior Girls Red

Wellington United Diamonds - Football Organiser of the Year

Awarded to the Football Organiser of the Year Kini Mitipelo

Andy Price Fair Play Award

Awarded to the student who has shown outstanding sporting behaviour and a positive attitude in team sport Nhung Ngo

Thomas Stace Cup

Io Arnold-Clark Gabriel Sloane-Rodrigues

Sports Personality of the Year

Isla Robertson Harry Smith